.
 
 

Morel Home

  François M. M. Morel
Professor of Geosciences (Geochemistry)

Department of Geosciences 
153 Guyot Hall 
Princeton University 
Princeton, NJ 08544

Phone: (609) 258-2416
Fax: (609) 258-5242
E-Mail:morel@princeton.edu



Administrative Faculty Assistant

   Eva Groves (egroves@princeton.edu)

Current Morel Research Group

Research Scholars

   Anne Kraepiel (kraepiel@princeton.edu)

    Jeffra Schaefer (jschaefe@princeton.edu)

Postdoctoral Scholars

    Jean-Philippe Bellenger- Postdoc (jbelleng@princeton.edu

    Brian Hopkinson- Postdoc (bhopkins@princeton.edu)

    Yan Xu - Postdoc (yxu@princeton.edu)

Graduate Students

    Dalin Shi - Geosciences (dshi@princeton.edu)

    Jenna Losh - Geosciences (jlosh@princeton.edu)

    Brandon Stackhouse - Geosciences (bstackho@princeton.edu)

 

Former Doctoral Advisee and Postdoctoral Associates

Thomas Wichard - (Postdoc 2006-2008)
Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena
School of Chemical and Earth Science
Institute for Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry
thomas.wichard@uni-jena.de

Patrick McGinn - (Postdoc 2005-2008)
Microalgae Research Officer
Institute of Marine Biosciences
National Research Council of Canada
Patrick.McGinn@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Eric Egleston - (Ph.D., 2008) Biological, Chemical, and Policy Aspects of the
Relationship between Productivity and the Ocean Carbon Cycle
Eric_Egleston@McKinsey.com

Haewon Park - (Ph.D., 2008) Cadmium Carbonic Anhydrase of Marine Diatoms: Diversity and Expression
Haewon.Park@aecom.com

Yan Xu - (Ph.D., 2008) Novel Metalloenzymes in Marine Phytoplankton: A Link Between Trace Elements and Macronutrients in the Oceans
yxu@princeton.edu

Adam Kustka - (Postdoc 2002-2006)
Assistant Professor
Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences
Rutgers, Newark
kustka@marine.rutgers.edu
kustka@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Madeli Castruita - (Ph.D., 2006) Ferritin in phytoplankton
Postdoc, UCLA, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
madeli@chem.ucla.edu

Eileen Ekstrom - (Ph.D., 2006) Mercury Cycling
Postdoc, Harvard, Environmental Sciences and Engineering Department in the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences
http://www.deas.harvard.edu/envmicro/people.html

Yeala Shaked - (Postdoc 2002-2005)
Lecturer, Interuniversity Institute for Marine Sciences at Eilat
Hebrew University, Jerusalem
yshaked@vms.huji.ac.il

Degui Tang - (Postdoc 2003-2005)
Wyeth Industries, New York
tangd@wyeth.com

Elizabeth Malcolm (Postdoc 2002-2004)
Assistant Professor of Ocean and Atmospheric Science
Virginia Wesleyan College, VA
emalcolm@vwc.edu

Allen J. Milligan (Postdoc 1999-2003)
Assistant Professor, Senior Research
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
Allen.Milligan@science.oregonstate.edu

Tung-Yuan Ho (Postdoc 2001-2003) 
Assistant Professor
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
National Chung Cheng University
Chia-Yi, 621, Taiwan
tyho@earth.sinica.edu.tw

Mak Saito (Postdoc 2001-2003)
Associate Scientist, Marine Chemistry dn Geochemistry
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, MA
msaito@whoi.edu

Philippe Tortell (Ph.D., 2001) Evolutionary and Ecological perspectives on carbon acquisition in phytoplankton
Assistant Professor Botany/Oceanography,University of British Columbia, Canada
ptortell@eos.ubc.ca

Klaus Keller (Ph.D., 2000) Trace metal.carbon interactions in marine phytoplankton: Implications on the cellular, regional, and global scale 
Assistant Professor, Penn State University, PA
kkeller@geosc.psu.edu

Todd W. Lane (Postdoc 1990) 
Sandia National Laboratories, Livermore, CA
twlane@sandia.gov

Anne Kraepiel (Ph.D., 1999) Biogeochemistry of Trace Metals: Mechanisms of Metal Partitioning in Aquatic Systems
Associate Research Scholar, Chemistry
Princeton University, NJ
kraepiel@Princeton.EDU

Jenny Jay, (Ph.D., 1999) Role of elemental sulfur in mercury methylation by Desulfovibrio desulfuricans ND132
Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
UCLA,  CA
jjay@seas.cula.edu

Pulcherie Gueneau (Ph.D., 1998) 
Assistant Professor, Simon Bolivar University, Caracas, Venezuela
pgueneau@cbb.ivic.ve

Dianne Newman (Ph.D., 1997) Microbial Respiration and Precipitation of Arsenic
Professor, Department of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
dkn@mit.edu

James Gawel (Ph.D., 1996) Phytochelatins: Biomonitors for Metal Stress in Terrestial Plants
Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
University of Washington at Tacoma, WA
jimgawel@
u.washington.edu

Donald Yee (Ph.D., 1996)  Cobalt Substitution for Zinc in Marine Phytoplankton
Assistant Environmental Scientist
San Francisco Estuary Institute, CA
http://www.sfei.org/
donald@sfei.org

Dianne Ahmann (Ph.D., 1996) Dissimilatory Arsenic Reduction in a Freshwater Sediment Microorganism
Assistant Professor, Environmental Science & Engineering
Colorado School of Mines, CO
dianne@mines.edu

John Reinfelder (Postdoc., 1992-1996) 
Associate  Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences
Rutgers University, NJ
reinfelder@envsci.rutgers.edu

Jennifer G. Lee (Ph.D., 1995) Cadmium: A Toxin and a Nutrient for Marine Phytoplankton
Research Associate
University of Maryland

Bettina (Bartschat) Vöelker (Ph.D., 1994 Zurich) 
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Geochemistry
Colorado School of Mines, CO
voelker@mines.edu

Beth A. Ahner (Ph.D., 1994) Phytoplankton Phytochelatin: A Biological Indicator of Metal Stress
Associate Professor, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
baa7@cornell.edu

Sarah Green (Ph.D., 1992) Applications of Fluorescence Spectroscopy to Environmental Chemistry
Director: MTU Remote Sensing Institute 
Michigan Tech, MI
s.green@mtu.edu

Neil M. Price (Postdoc., 1987-1991) 
Associate Professor, 
McGill University, Montreal, Canada
neil.price@mcgill.ca

Brian Palenik (Ph.D., 1989) Cell Surface Redox Activities of Marine Phytoplankton
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Univ. Of California, San Diego, CA
bpalenik@ucsd.edu

Robert Hudson (Ph.D., 1989) The Chemical Kinetics of Iron Uptake by Marine Phytoplankton
Assistant Professor, University of Illinois, IL
rjhudson@uiuc.edu

Janet Hering (Ph.D., 1988) The Kinetics and Thermodynamics of Copper Complexation in Aquatic Systems
Professor of Environmental Science and Engineering 
Caltech, CA
jhering@caltech.edu

Gary Jones (Postdoc., 1986-1988) 
Div. of Water Res., CSIRO, Griffith, NSW 2680, Australia
gary.jones@csiro.au

David Dzombak (Ph.D., 1986) Toward a Uniform Model for the Sorption of Inorganic Ions on Hydrous Oxides
Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University, PA
dzombak@cmu.edu

Kevin J. Farley (Ph.D., 1984) Sorption and Sedimentation as Mechanisms of Trace Metal Removal
Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
Manhattan College, NY
kevin.farley@manhattan.edu

William Fish (Ph.D., 1984) Modeling the Interactions of Trace Metals and Aquatic Humic Materials
Associate Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Portland State University, OR
fishw@cecs.pdx.edu

T. David Waite (Ph.D., 1984) Photoredox Properties of Iron in Natural Waters
Professor and Chairman, School of Civil Engineering
University of New South Wales, Australia
d.waite@unsw.edu.au

Carl Watras (Postdoc., 1981-1983) 
Advanced  Research Scientist, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
cjwatras@wisc.edu 
watrac@dnr.state.wi.us

Patricia Foster (Postdoc., 1980-1982) 
Associate Professor of Env. Health, School of Public Health
Boston University, MA
plfoster@indiana.edu

John Rueter (Ph.D., 1979) The Effects of Copper and Zinc on Growth Rate and Nutrient Uptake in the Marine Diatom Thalassiosira Pseudonana
Professor of Biology and Director of Environmental Sciences Program
Portland State University, OR
rueterj@pdx.edu

Donald Anderson (Ph.D., 1978) Effects of cupric ion activity on Gonyaulax tamarensis, New England red tide organism
Senior Scientist, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, MA
damderspm@wjpo/edi

Diane McKnight (Ph.D., 1979) Interactions between Freshwater Plankton and Copper Speciation
Professor, Civil, Environmental  & Architectural Engineering
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research
University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
diane.mcknight@snobear.colorado.edu

Joseph Yeasted (Ph.D., 1978) The Modeling of Lake Response to Phosphorus Loadings: Empirical, Chemical, and Hydrodynamic Aspects
Director of Major Projects, Int. Tech. Corp., Green Valley, NV
jyeasted@trcsolutions.com

David Burmaster (Ph.D., 1978) Steady and Unsteady Continuous Culture of Monochrysis lutheri under phosphate limitation
President, Alceon Corporation, Cambridge, MA
deb@alceon.com
http://www.alceon.com/

Kathleen Swallow (Ph.D., 1978) Adsorption of Trace Metals by Hydrous Ferric Oxide in Seawater
Professor, Chemistry Department
Merrimack College, North Andover, MA
Kathleen.swallow@merrimack.edu

John Westall (Ph.D., 1978) Chemical Methods for the Study of Metal-Ligand Interactions in Aquatic Environments
Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, Oregon State University, OR
John.westall@orst.edu
http://www.chem.orst.edu/personalhomepages/westall.htm

Harry Hemond (Ph.D., 1977) Biogeochemistry of a New England Sphagnum Bog
Professor and Director, Parsons Lab., MIT, MA
hfhemond@mit.edu


 

Updated 8/29/06